Playing Catch Up…

Almost There…

My birthday is 4 days away, eeek! I can’t decide if I should be excited or mourn the loss of my 20s 🙂
As usual, I’ve been bad about posting my progress but have conquered quite a few more off my list the past couple of months and continue to tackle a few more before D-Day (I mean my 30th birthday).

Random Acts of Kindness

A simple but gratifying goal was to complete a Random Act of Kindness.  I decided to really get into the Christmas spirit and made holiday cards  with Starbucks gift cards to pass out as I best saw fit. Check them out here.

I got my husband in on the fun and we spread some holiday (and coffee) cheer to our mail man, strangers passing by and even our local supermarket clerk. People were surprised but grateful. It was nice to give back and we’ll  definitely be doing it again next Christmas as well as thinking of other ways to spread the kindness throughout the rest of the year! Check out the Random Acts of Kindness Fountain for some fun ideas.

Support Our Troops

Another goal was to send a present to a US solider. Some may think this is easy and a no brainer and it is but I’ve always gotten too busy or forget. This year I held myself accountable and continued with my Christmas spirit. I found the Give 2 The Troops organization  who has supported more than ONE MILLION deployed US Troops with care packages and letters. I assembled a holiday care package  with blank holiday cards for soldiers to send notes homes, candy, snacks and magazines.  I’ll definitely be making this an annual thing.

Ridin’ Solo

Next on my list, go to the movies by myself. I love movies – my husband and I practically live at Redbox and go to the movies whenever we can. Surprisingly, I’ve never gone by myself, I think I always thought it was a little intimidating. I took a personal day at work and decided to run some errands and end my afternoon with a movie – The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.
I loved going by myself – especially during the middle of the week – the theatre was almost empty and I could enjoy a kid’s combo pack  – complete with popcorn, fruit snacks and dinosaur soda cup –  without judgment! For anyone that has never done this I highly recommend it – it’s a nice way to unwind. And I swear it’s not that scary 🙂

Leave a Reply

